Almond broccoli soup blog

I was never a salad or a soup person until few months back when lockdown happened. I always used to have sweet corn soup or tomato soup whenever I used to go to some restaurants or parties. But ever since lockdown happened I took some courage and started to eat healthy because I thought if I don’t do any excercise or eat any heathy food it will be appalling for my body so I started to have some raw vegetables for evening snacks with my green tea which includes broccoli.

My first reaction after eating broccoli was so different than I expected it to be. I thought it would be bitter but it was not. It tasted like cabbage.

My mother always used to insist me to have broccoli soup whenever she used to make that for her and my father but I always used to deny having that. And I remember few months back when I asked my mother to make broccoli soup she was so shocked but happy.

It tasted like butternut squash to me. So today I asked my mother to share her special recipe with me and I made this amazing Almond Broccoli Soup.

Ingredients needed for soup are:

  • 250g Broccoli
  • 150g Onion
  • 2 cup Water
  • 2tbsp of Cornflour
  • 2tsp Black pepper
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 7-8 pieces of Almond

Steps are mentioned below:

  • Cut the broccoli and onion into small uneven pieces
  • Add vegetables into sauce pan
  • Add water and turn on the stove
  • Then add spices and cornflour
  • Cover them with lid
  • Let them cook until the vegetables gets boiled
  • Add them into grinder and grind them
  • Put them again into stove for final heating
  • Add slices of almond into the soup
  • Then the soup is ready for plating

I made this all by myself and let others taste for me and guess what their reaction was very motivating for me to try out new different recipes. My mother told me it was perfectly crushed and texture was very good. My father just had 2 bowls which was very cheerful for me.

Broccoli was first spread to Northern Europe in 18th Century and was brought to North America in 19th Century by Italian immigrants. Broccoli is of 3 types Calabrese Broccoli, Sprounting Broccoli and Purple Cauliflower.

It contains 34 calories while only raw broccoli contains 89% water, 7% carbohydrates and 3% proteins.

Some of the benefits of broccoli are:

  • It is great for weight loss.
  • It is good for winter.
  • Heart friendly.
  • Improves digestion.
  • Rich source of vitamin C and vitamin K

The only challenge which I faced while making broccoli was grinding hot soup. But after all it was a great success for me. I also changed bit of my mothers recipe like my mother used to make broccoli soup but I added almonds to it and I think adding almond was the biggest achievement for me.

I learned some of the delicious healthy eating and I think I can add this in my future culinary field for some healthy lifestyle. Everyone should definitely try this out once.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started